What is the Blue Book?

For an injured or ill person attempting to gain Social Security disability benefits, the evaluation process may seem vague and illogical. However, the Social Security Administration’s (SSA) examiners partially refer to a manual known as the “Blue Book” to help them decide whether a claim qualifies for disability benefits or not.

The Blue Book is comprised of “listings,” meaning injuries or conditions, and the requirements to qualify for each of those listings. For instance, if an applicant suffered a traumatic brain injury (TBI) and claimed he could not work, the SSA would look at the requirements for a TBI. If the examiners found that the applicant’s condition met these requirements, then he would qualify for disability benefits.

The Blue Book is divided into two parts:

  • A: Part A of the book is dedicated to adult impairments.
  • B: Part B of the book is dedicated to impairments that affect children

Both sections are organized by body system, working from the major body systems to their associated disorders. The Blue Book’s impairment list is available on the SSA website for anyone to view. In Friday’s post, we will address how you can use the impairment listings to your advantage, and also what to do if an impairment is not listed in the Blue Book.

While the Blue Book may make it easier to understand why and how the SSA makes its decisions regarding disability benefits, applying is still a complex and lengthy process. Contact our Tulsa Social Security disability lawyers today to discuss your case confidentially. We do not charge for consultations, and you may reach us by phone at (918) 587-0050.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *